Law Office of
John Henry Hunter III, PLLC
CALL US  919-947-5234                         

Have you received a speeding citation in North Carolina?  If so, do not simply pay off your ticket without first consulting a lawyer.  

North Carolina has a two point system.  There are insurance points, and there are DMV points.  They are not the same.

Insurance points have a direct impact on how much your insurance premium will cost you.  Typically speaking, as you accumulate insurance points, your annual premium will increase.  Depending upon your driving history, you may or may not be subject to an increase in your insurance premium.  

DMV points on the other hand have a direct impact on your ability to maintain your licensing privileges in North Carolina.  The accumulation of enough DMV points could result in the revocation of driving privileges in North Carolina.  ​

​Click on the link below for examples from the  North Carolina Department of Insurance Safe Driving Incentive Plan.  

When you hear the words traffic ticket, most people immediately think speeding ticket.  In North Carolina, traffic court in most jurisdictions encompasses all types of violations that relate to driving.  There are a lot of violations in the state that arise out of the operation of a motor vehicle, some of which are criminal in nature.  Some examples of traffic offenses that are also misdemeanor criminal violations include but are not limited to the following: Driving While License Revoked, Careless and Reckless Driving, Driving While Impaired, Unauthorized Use of a Motor Vehicle and Driving and Transporting an Open Container of an Alcoholic Beverage. 

Driving while license revoked, depending upon the circumstances which caused the revocation could be a Class 1 Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 120 days of active jail time, or a Class 3 Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 20 days of active jail time.  Neither of those two would lead to an increase in your insurance premium.  Careless and Reckless on the other hand is a Class 2 Misdemeanor, punishable by up to 60 days of active jail time AND​ will lead to an insurance premium increase of roughly 80 percent!​ 

Before you handle your matter on your own, consult The Law Office of John Henry Hunter III, PLLC!